Comment on page

Administrative units

  • In order to be able to assign the companies to a geographical region, we use the so-called NUTS system of the European Union. This is a hierarchical structure of administrative units that is comparable across member states.
  • The following four units can be distinguished:
    • NUTS0 = country
    • NUTS1 = region or state
    • NUTS2 = departments or districts
    • NUTS3 = county or city
  • Similar administrative divisions exist for the United States and Canada. To keep our data consistent, these have also been named NUTS levels, even though this system actually only exists for the European Union:
    • NUTS0 = country
    • NUTS1 = state / provinces or territory
    • NUTS2 = metropolitan statistical area (this does not exist for Canada)
    • NUTS3 = county